Sandown Lodge

Sandown Facade 700x465

Sandown Lodge

Proposals for alterations and additions to Sandown Lodge are being investigated by the owners who wish to develop and add to the existing dwelling to include two additional upper level bedroom suites with exterior access which can also be utilised by one of existing upper level bedroom suites.

The Property was originally part of the Weltevreden Farm, owned by a Mr J.A. van Reenen, as referenced on a map of the Old Estates of Rondebosch compiled with the assistance of the Surveyor General Office.   The first date of transfer is recorded as the 9th August 1880 and the original dwelling is represented in the 1905 City of Cape Town survey map.

Currently three bedroom suites within the existing residence on the ground level are utilised for guests. These three units are part of the built structure attached to the original main double storied residence where the family resides. Some changes have been made to the built form (between the years of 1941 and 2015) and a previous proposal for an upper level bedroom suite was investigated. The owners, however, wished to explore an alternate design solution and to this end, a Heritage Statement and sketch design proposals have been prepared for the necessary Planning and Heritage applications.

© 2011 Ursula Rigby Architect - Web Design By Wil